‘Amazing’ Homemade Granola Bars

So to say I am obsessed with bars, is probably some sort of understatement. I love their ability to travel with me on the go. They are never messy, and always save me from my constant insatiable hunger.

As you will most likely see in many of my posts, if not all, I am constantly looking for ways to be budget friendly with all of the wedding costs as of late. It is also how I grew up. There is no reason to spend extra money on something that you can usually make a better, more delicious version of at home.

Welp, to be honest, these are the BEST granola bars I have EVER had. I am by no means tooting my own horn, this is absolutely not my own recipe. I found this little gem while surfing the web. Please go here to check out the ‘knead to cook’ blog, and her post about these delicious little bars from heaven.

Not only is budget an issue, but Will always seems to be watching his waistline, especially with the ‘big day’ on the horizon. These bars are everything you could ever ask for. They are tasty, healthy, and filling 🙂

image

The recipe is so easy! No baking involved!

1 heaping cup of pitted dates
1 cup of raw almonds
1 1/3 cup of rolled oats (not quick oats)
1/8 tsp salt
1/4 cup nut butter (I use creamy PB)
1/4 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place the oats and almonds on a baking sheet. You’re going to want to keep them separated so that you can coarsely chop the almonds after they toast. Set the timer for 10 minutes.

Now take your dates, and place them in the food processor, chopping/processing them until they form into a ball. Put your nut butter, honey, and vanilla into a pot and heat on the stove on low until it becomes melted (Smells amazing!!).

Once the almonds and oats are done, let them cool slightly so you can chop the almonds. Add oats and almonds to the dates in a bowl or stand mixer. Once combined, add the nut butter mixture and salt.

Lastly, line an 8×8 (or similar sized) pan with wax or parchment paper and spread out granola bar mixture- it needs some coaxing. Place the pan in the refrigerator for about 45 minutes, and then cut into bars. Store in refrigerator for optimum crunch and longevity of life!

image

Will LOVES these bars, and so do his coworkers. He harasses me to make them weekly. So please, I beg you, give them a try!

One thought on “‘Amazing’ Homemade Granola Bars

Leave a Reply

