Breakfast Smoothie with Granola

I absolutely adore breakfast. I literally love everything about the meal. I love that it is the first bite of deliciousness to touch my taste buds as I start my day. Unfortunately, my other half does not feel the same way. My dear William struggled for a long time to enjoy this meal. He would either skip it completely, or avoid eating until much later in the day. To help him on his journey to someday love and appreciate breakfast as I do, I have been on a mission to switch things up, and think of new and creative ways for him to get his nutrients in within an hour of waking up.

Recently, Will and I were out shopping for the day. Silly me, I forgot to pack a snack. Thankfully there was a Jamba Juice within walking distance of the strip mall we were at. While Will ordered something savory, I ordered some version of a smoothie bowl. It was delish, and Will obviously stole some of mine per usual.(Aha, he likes it!)  As I have seen the craze of acai bowls on Pinterest and Instagram, I decided to make my own more price friendly version- as paying for a wedding is quite the budget buster.

While at the grocery store, Will and I picked out some frozen fruit (mango, pineapple, and blueberries) from the freezer section. We also picked out a healthy granola, trying to avoid ones high in fat calories. We chose a bag of the Bear Naked Fit; Vanilla Almond Crunch.

So this morning, I threw some of this together! Here is approximately what I blended together for 2 servings.

.5 cup frozen mango
.5 cup frozen pineapple
1.5 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
2 bananas
1 heaping tablespoon of ground flaxseed

I poured the smoothies into mason jars, of course! I then topped each with a heaping quarter cup of the Bear Naked granola.

Voila!

image

I will of course be experimenting with this type of recipe, with all sorts of flavor profiles. I also want to get the texture a tad thicker- frozen bananas might just do the trick!

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Smoothie with Granola

Leave a Reply

