Easter Brunch

I am so sorry for the lack of posts! Wedding things have really taken over my life- in a good, but very stressful way.

Anyways, I have so many posts to share with you guys, so here we go!

So, as you may already know, I LOVE pancakes. Almost every single weekend, Will and I celebrate “Pancake Sunday.” Normally, we make them a little bit healthier with some small changes here and there (but never ever forsaking flavor or texture). But, when it comes to holidays “healthifying” things is never allowed. Like I said, enjoy life! Living a healthful lifestyle is all about moderation.

While browsing the internet, I discovered a recipe for pancakes that kept popping up everywhere. It had absolutely rave reviews. It also called for ingredients that I always keep on hand, with one exception (VERY budget friendly).

The recipe I chose, with help from my associate, was “Bruce Paltrow’s World Famous Pancakes.”

Like I said, this recipe is everywhere. Many of the places that it is posted, uses the version that makes 3 dozen pancakes. Well, as you already know, down here in Houston it is just the two of us. I mean Will and I can eat A LOT of pancakes, but unless we wanted to have pancakes for days, I needed to make sure the recipe we chose would yield a reasonable amount of delicious fluffy discs.

Here is the recipe to make a smaller batch from SELF Magazine. (This is the one that we used)

Here is the recipe if you would like to make 3 dozen, from goop, a website/company created by Gwenyth Paltrow herself.

As Will and I followed the recipe exactly, please go to the links above!

We made one mistake….

Both recipes tell you to let the batter sit overnight. Welp, in my world “ain’t nobody got time for that!” so we let it sit for about 10-20 minutes. That is the same right?! Well no, but it turned out just fine 🙂

image

So, what was the one ingredient that I normally don’t keep, that is absolutely essential to this recipe? BUTTERMILK. Will and I bought a small buttermilk container, since we were grocery shopping the day before. But, if you don’t have buttermilk, or you don’t want to buy it, you can easily make a substitute at home. Here is a great post from Joy the Baker, with different methods of making your very own buttermilk equivalent.
image

If you have your own method of cooking pancakes, that’s great! But, if you need some tips, here are a few I have picked up over the years.

  1. Heat the pan/girddle long before the batter is ready, you want the pancakes to sizzle a little when you put the batter on.
  2. Make a tester pancake. The first pancake is ALWAYS weird. Make a tiny little guy to test out the heat of the pan, the consistency of the batter, and the greasing method you chose.
  3. Before you flip, always wait for bubbles to appear all over the top of the pancakes. If you are unsure, sneak a peak with the spatula- it should be golden brown.
  4. Don’t crowd the pan! Well, unless you want to end up with 1 gigantic pancake.
  5. Use 1/4 to 1/3 measuring cups to pour the batter. I like my pancakes a little bigger, so I lean toward 1/3 cup.
  6. Add chocolate chips, and when you do, throw them on with force, so that they go into the pancake. No one wants a plain pancake with chocolate smears. I mean, duh, I’ll eat it, but come on people, presentation counts for something.
  7. Don’t overcook! Everyone likes a pancake a teeny tiny bit underdone in the middle 🙂
  8. Top with REAL Maple Syrup. Trust me. The fake stuff doesn’t have anything on the real deal.
  9. Serve with a nut butter, preferably peanut butter (unless you are allergic). I was introduced to this trick by one of my best friends, all the way back when we were in high school. Trust me, it will change your life.

image

image

Will and I kept some plain, and added chocolate chips to others. In addition to the pancakes Will cooked up some of his favorite turkey breakfast sausage links (not the brown & serve).

We also had Mimosas with our lovely little Easter Brunch! Just mix orange juice and some champagne 🙂 We used Trader Joe’s Brut that is about 4.99. Yes, that fits into our budget. Andddddd, it was delish- we were both impressed!

So, please, make these fluffy, buttery, and very delicious pancakes! I hope y’all had a wonderful Easter!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

